‘Platinum man’ ANR to be felicitated on April 9 | Chakpak

‘Platinum man’ ANR to be felicitated on April 9


A grand function is being organised by Tollywood filmmakers of the present and past generations to mark the celebration of veteran actor Dr. Akkineni Nageswara Rao's platinum jubilee stint in films.  The function is scheduled to be held on April 9 at the Shilpakala Vedika at 4:30 pm.

The felicitation committee which has been making various arrangements for the meeting includes eminent personalities like D. Rama Naidu (chairman), M. Murali Mohan (convenor) and yesteryear’s popular actor Jamuna Ramana Rao.

Readers are aware of Nageswara Rao’s contribution to Telugu films to a great extent and to some extent to the Tamil film industry too.  In a career spanning close to 70 years in Telugu films, he has played the lead role in 256 Telugu films besides playing the hero in 26 Tamil films.  After making his debut in films in 1941 at the age of 17, he hasn’t rested and is active in films even now.

Kiran Kumar Reddy, Hon. Chief Minister of the state will be the chief guest of the event and Jayanthi Natarajan, union minister of state for environment and forests, will be honouring ANR.  Other stalwarts of the Telugu film industry who would be gracing the function would be Megastar Chiranjeevi, T. Subbarami Reddy, M. Mohan Babu, R.V. Ramana Murthy, Ram Charan Teja, Rana Daggubati, Naga Chaitanya, Allu Arjun, Ravi Teja, Prabhas, Prakash Raj, Mahesh Babu, Kaajal Aggarwal, Tamannah, Nithya Menon, Nayantara, Suhasini and Anushka Shetty.